Book Companion Logo  RED CLOCKS
Links
 
  Home               
   
AUTHOR: Leni Zumas
Leni Zumas
   


Author's Website

Author Interview on Powells

Author on Wikipedia



REVIEWS: Red Clocks
     
GoodReads

The Guardian

The Washington Post

Book Companion

A Time Magazine Best Book of the Year. Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.

Characters: 57. Amazon rating: 3 1/2 stars. Genre: Fiction.


 

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS: Red Clocks

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS: General



BUY: Red Clocks

   
STORY LINKS:
    Nuremberg Law on Wikipedia.
    PCOS on HealthLine.
Footer1